Emeritus Professor Christopher Fell (Chair of the Australian National Fabrication Facility (ANFF) and Prof. Bill Charman (Chair of the ANFF-Vic Council) have both been recognized in the 2020 Australia Day Honours lists as Officers of the Order of Australia (AO).  ANFF-NSW would like to wholeheartedly congratulate Prof. Fells and Prof. Charman for their well-deserved recognition in the Honours List and the highly valued contributions they have made to ANFF.

Prof. Fell is a former Dean of Engineering and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and International) at UNSW (Sydney), who was instrumental in the establishment of the ANFF in 2007.  He was our first National Director and subsequently in 2011 took over the role of National Chair of ANFF.  Prof. Fell received the Order of Australia for distinguished service to science and engineering, particularly to nanotechnology research and fabrication, and to professional networks.


Prof Charman is Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at Monash Uni with a distinguished career in pharmaceutical R&D including co-funding Acrux Ltd to commercialise drug delivery technology.  Among his many other roles, Prof. Charman has held the Chair of the ANFF-Vic Council since last year, which coordinates the seven universities that contribute to ANFF-Vic node. Prof. Charman received the Order of Australia for distinguished service to tertiary education, particularly to the pharmaceutical sciences, and to professional organisations.